Friday, November 24, 2017
  Home  
  MLS Information  
Gail F. Higley Named Top 100 Realtors by Orlando Magazine
My Company
About Me
Search for Properties
View My Listings
Avoid Foreclosure
Short Sale and Foreclosure Information
My Seller Information & Tips
My Buyer Information & Tips
How Septic Systems Work
Relocation Information
About Orlando
New Home Construction
Orange County Public School Informaton
Public /Private/ Charter School Information
Homestead Exemption Information
Testimonials
New Home Communities
Real Estate Glossary
  Contact  
 

Homestead Exemption Information

Regular filing for Homestead Exemption begins January 1st and ends March 1st.

If you own property which you use as your permanent residence, you may file for homestead expemtion. If granted, this exemption could reduce the taxable value of your homestead by up to $50,000.

All persons seeking homestead exemption must complete an original applicaton (Form DR-501) with the Property Appraiser's office.

A program was initialted by Bill Donegan, CFA, Orange County Property Appraiser, in May 2000 that allows filing the homestead application by mail by completing the application with copies of the required documentation. Of course, you also may file in person at 200 S. Orange Avenue, 17th Floor, Orlando (SunTrust Building). They are is open Monday through Friday, 8:00am to 5:00pm.

The office mails pre-printed applications to all new homeowners approximately 6 to 8 weeks after the deed is recorded in Orange County. You may also contact their office to request an application by mail or download the form from their website - www.ocpafl.org. Please read all instructions carefully before completing the application form.

For your convenience, beginning January 3, 2005 and ending March 1, 2005, the Orange County Property Appraisers office will set up satellite locations  in Fashion Square Mall, Florida Mall and West Oaks Mall.  

The information needed for application:

1.) A recorded deed or tax bill in your name.

2.) All owners who reside on the property must provide:

If you drive, a Florida driver's license, and one of the following:

- Florida vehicle registration

- Florida voter registration card

- Recorded Orange County Declaration of Domicile

(obtained from the Orange County Comptrollers office)

 If you do NOT drive, any two of the following:

- Florida Identification Card

- Florida vehicle registration

- Florida voter registration card

- Recorded Orange County Declaration of Domicile

3.) Social security numbers are required for all owners making application and their spouses, even if the spouse does not own and/or reside on the property.

State law entitles you to apply for an additional exemption as a widow or widower.

Certain specified medical disabilities and limited income senior citizens may also qualify for an additional exemption.

If you have any questions regarding exemptions available, please contact the Orange County Property Appraisers office at (407) 836-5044 or visit their website www.ocpafl.org.